祭司的职任领导加强侦察

大提顿理事会
爱达荷瀑布, 爱达荷州

下面是一个示例的祭司的职任指导如何加强关系和侦察程序. 面积七十形成 LDS BSA 关系小组委员会的三个协调理事会的界限 — — 波卡特洛, 爱达荷瀑布, 和雷克斯堡. 铁砧总统被分配到每个小组委员会主席. 这些小组委员会每个季度满足. 除了这些地区七十的小组委员会会议, BSA 安理会童军行政, 和 BSA 主任外地服务满足每季度与分配的股份总统从每个协调委员会要同步他们的努力. 在这种方式在一起工作, 这些关系委员会已经能够消除配额为朋友的侦察. 相反, 他们鼓励赌注,给每个人都有机会贡献没有压力的会议配额. 作为一个结果, 他们已经能够满足需要的 BSA 地方理事会. 他们还鼓励 BSA 当地安理会找到控制成本的方法,已经能够降低营费. 最后, 他们已经能够提高童军领袖的培训.

丹佛地区理事会
丹佛, 科罗拉多州

因为祭司的职任领导由地区七十提供有效运作丹佛 LDS BSA 的关系委员会. 这个强大的安排已一巨大的祝福到教会和侦察. 面积七十作为 LDS BSA 的关系委员会主席. 他在这次会议中引出和 BSA 理事会代表提供支持. 由于提供的面积七十的坚强领导, 重新租船, 童军运动节目的质量, 和在教会和 BSA 地方理事会之间的关系改善了. 这为教会打开了其他门. 以下是一些重大的成就:

  • 经社理事会希望建立其周围以信仰为基础的机构的未来. 安理会知道教会有着良好的关系与在丹佛的天主教大主教和走近分配面积七十来看看是否他能为 BSA 地方理事会以满足与大主教谈论更多的支持,从天主教主教为侦察把门打开. 面积七十设置与大主教的会议和出席与安理会的童军行政会议. 这次会议的结果, 大主教授权牛血清白蛋白与天主教主教在科罗拉多州的所有会议, 怀俄明州, 州和内布拉斯加州.
  • 没有来自教会已开发了与这个大主教的积极关系后来重要好处. 随后他被转从丹佛, 科罗拉多州, 到费城, 宾夕法尼亚州. 当老年人增加 Dallin H. 关于慈善捐款在国会作证的橡树, 他有难以安排的代表于天主教教会在聆讯期间提供支持. 调用了这个大主教和他立即派出一名关键的代表要与老橡树在聆讯.
  • 由于强的 LDS BSA 的关系委员会, 有许多的教会理事会执行局成员. 这有助于与宗教间的关系.
  • 丹佛地区理事会执行官和董事会成员已经被邀请参加 LDS 一般会议和几个参加过. 董事会一名成员, 不是教会的成员, 参加了 4 月 2012 大会. 他来到面积七十最近,感谢他邀请他参加会议. 他说:, "那祭司的职任届会议是如此的不可思议. 我有没有教会不会它做的所有事情的想法。他现在有教会的看法很正面,因为他的会议经验.

在盐湖城 LDS BSA 关系办公室, 犹他州, 可以协助在这宝贵的委员会的发展. 设置来电预约 801-530-0004 或发送电子邮件 ldsbsa@scouting.org.

想要跟上最新的 LDS 侦察新闻? 注册我们的时事通讯!

Priesthood Leadership Strengthens Scouting

Grand Teton Council
Idaho Falls, Idaho

The following is an example of how priesthood guidance can strengthen relationships and Scouting programs. The Area Seventy formed LDS-BSA Relationship sub-committees along the three coordinating council boundaries–Pocatello,  Idaho Falls, and Rexburg. A stake president was assigned to chair each sub-committee. These sub-committees meet quarterly. In addition to these sub-committee meetings the Area Seventy, the BSA council Scout executive, and the BSA director of field services meet quarterly with the assigned stake presidents from each of the coordinating councils to synchronize their efforts. Working together in this way, these relationships committees have been able to eliminate quotas for Friends of Scouting. Instead, they have encouraged stakes to give everyone the opportunity to contribute without pressure of meeting quotas. As a result, they have been able to meet the needs of the BSA local council. They have also encouraged the BSA local council to find ways to control costs and have been able to lower camp fees. Finally, they have been able to improve training among Scout leaders.

Denver Area Council
Denver, Colorado

The Denver LDS-BSA Relationships Committee is functioning effectively because of priesthood leadership provided by the Area Seventy. This powerful arrangement has been a tremendous blessing to both the Church and Scouting. The Area Seventy serves as the chair of the LDS-BSA Relationships Committee. He leads out in this meeting and the BSA council representatives provide support. Because of the strong leadership provided by the Area Seventy, re-chartering, the quality of the Scouting programs, and relationships between the Church and the BSA local council have improved. This has opened up other doors for the Church. Following are some significant accomplishments:

  • The council desires to build its future around faith-based institutions. The council knew that the Church had a good relationship with the Catholic archbishop in Denver and approached the assigned Area Seventy to see if he could open the door for the BSA local council to meet with the archbishop to talk about more support from the Catholic bishops for Scouting. The Area Seventy set up the meeting with the archbishop and attended the meeting with the council Scout executive. As a result of that meeting, the archbishop authorized BSA meetings with Catholic bishops in all of Colorado, Wyoming, and Nebraska.
  • There was a later important benefit that came from the positive relationship the Church had developed with this archbishop. He was subsequently transferred from Denver, Colorado, to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. When Elder Dallin H. Oaks testified before Congress about charitable contributions, he had difficulty arranging for a representative from the Catholic Church to provide support during the hearing. A call was made to this archbishop and he immediately sent a key representative to be with Elder Oaks at the hearing.
  • Because of the strong LDS-BSA Relationships Committee, there are many members of the Church on the council executive board. This has helped with interfaith relationships.
  • Denver Area Council executives and board members have been invited to attend LDS general conference and several have attended. One board member, not a member of the Church, attended the April 2012 General Conference. He came up to the Area Seventy recently and thanked him for inviting him to attend conference. He said, “That priesthood session was so amazing. I had no idea the Church does all the things that it does.” He now has a very positive view of the Church because of his conference experience.

The LDS-BSA Relationships office in Salt Lake City, Utah, can assist in the development of this valuable committee. To set up an appointment call 801-530-0004 or email ldsbsa@scouting.org.

Want to keep up with the latest LDS Scouting news? Sign up for our newsletter!