Leader Guides

Are you a Scout leader or a ward or stake leader with Scouting responsibilities? These helpful summaries can assist you in magnifying your calling. Are you new to Scouting? The LDS-BSA website is here to help you get off to a great, easy start. Select the group of Scouts that you’re a leader over, or the ward or stake position in which you have Scouting responsibilities.

Pack (Primary)

Cub Scouts are boys ages 8 through 10 who belong to dens according to their age. The dens form what is called a pack. A boy turning 8 starts out in the Wolf den. He moves into the Bear den at age 9, although in some small packs he may remain in a combined Wolf/Bear den. When he turns 10 he joins the Webelos den. Cub Scouts in the Webelos den work toward earning the Arrow of Light Award, the highest rank in Cub Scouting.

Cub Scouts

Eleven-Year-Old Scouts (Primary)

When a boy turns eleven he graduates from Cub Scouts and joins the ward’s Boy Scout troop. He participates in a separate patrol from the deacon-age Boy Scouts because he is not yet a part of the deacons quorum. He will primarily work on requirements needed to earn the ranks of Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class Scout.

Eleven-Year-Old Scouts

Troop (Deacons Quorum)

At the beginning of the year in which he turns age 12 a boy moves into the patrol for deacon-age Scouts. He continues working on rank requirements and earning merit badges as he works toward advancing to the rank of Eagle Scout.

Boy Scouts

Ward Leaders

Looking for ways to help out the Scouting leaders and Scouts in your ward? Help give your Scout leaders the guidance they need to succeed.

Ward Leaders

Stake Leaders

Make the Scouting programs in your stake as successful as possible by reviewing our resources for stake leaders.

Stake Leaders

Vanguard Scouting